Leave the light on

If I were young again, I’d pay attention
To that little-known dimension:
The taste of endless time
It’s just like water, it runs right through our fingers
But the flavor of it lingers,
Like a rich, red wine

That drummer in my head needs inspiration
There’s a lack of syncopation,
That holds me to a line
It’s just so hard to leave these cages that we think in
By stages we just sink in
To a slow decline

These races that we’ve run were not for glory –
No moral to the story:
We run for peace of mind
But the race we’re running now is never-ending.
Space and time are bending, and
There’s no finish line

I’ve been left for dead before, but I still fight on
Don’t wait up, leave the light on,
I’ll be home soon

Chris Smither, “Leave the light on”

Live version

Have at it

