Seems so real

Night and day, always at the ready
Working hard to find that easy life
What you say we just try to keep it steady
Easy work is hard to find
I say easy work is hard to find
Just keep your head low
What they don’t see they’ll never know

Truth or lies–it doesn’t really matter
Hard to tell when the judge is blind
Heaven knows it’s on one end of the ladder–
But I think hell is just a state of mind
Yeah I think hell is just a state of mind
It’s the hardest kind–hard to take–but I don’t mind
The hardest kind–hard to take but I don’t mind

I mind my brain–it’s real enough to shatter
Behind my eyes and up between my ears
I think of mind as the ruler of the matter
But it’s nothing but the whining of the gears
Yeah, it’s nothing but the whining of the gears
It seems so real, but it’s nothing but the spinning of the wheel
Seems so real, but it’s nothing but the spinning of the wheel

Seems So Real, Chris Smither

