Well you’re gone, but I don’t worry…

When this guy comes to the US next time, I’ll be near the front of the ticket line in the closest city, because he is unquestionably world class. You lucky dogs in Britain don’t have to wait.

You know in spring, on a sunny day
My baby left me; said she’s gone to stay
She’s gone
But I don’t worry
I’m just sittin’ on top of the world

She called me up, from El Paso
She said “Come back now daddy, I need you so”
Well you’re gone
And I don’t worry
I’m just sittin’ on top of the world

If you didn’t want my peaches, why’d you shake my tree?
Just get out of my orchard; you let my peaches be
You’re gone
I don’t worry
I’m just sittin’ on top of the world

The Mississippi Sheiks, 1930
Chris Smither’s version

Have at it

