Here in the going, going, gone

Dark laughter on the teeter-totter
An old song floats across the water
I know I should pack up and move on
One note Johnnies proliferate
The wind rises, the hour is late
Here in the going, going, gone

My heart ain’t mine, my heart is yours
Or else I left it out-of-doors
Like a baseball glove out on the lawn
I’d walk through fire to retrieve it
But still you never would believe it
Here in the going, going, gone

Everywhere you look you see
More of you and more of me
Scrambling for the goods; the lines are drawn
Peace and quiet–is there any?
We are the beautiful too many
Here in the going, going, gone

Greg Brown

Have at it

