They’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

I never thought that I’d be hanging around this damned old town
I always thought the world was flat so I just kinda hung around
I got a job–it ain’t much, but keeps my feet down on the ground

I was born here, I was raised here, so I’m bound to be appraised here after a while
Yeah I thought that I was real cool man–they missed me at my high school, by a mile
Everything I learned, I let it burn–with no return–in that old fire

Someday I’m gonna draw my own map honey
And I’m gonna nail it to the wall
Will chart my course, ‘n dream a lot and save my money
They’re gonna miss me when I’m gone
They gonna miss me when I’m gone

Man if I have to drive this truck around this square one more time I’m gonna bust
Man everybody follows everybody else around–some silly kind of trust
Well I’ve trusted destination long enough; if it rains a lot I’m gonna rust

Well everyone in town here tells everyone around here what to do
Man I just can’t go for that, I can’t stand for that when they do that, can you?
Well my best thinking’s kept me here, so I best find some kinda way to move

Someday I’m gonna draw my own map, honey
And I’m gonna nail it to the wall
Will chart my course, and dream a lot and save my money
They’re gonna miss me when I’m gone
They gonna miss me when I’m gone

Jeff Black’s original acoustic blues version
Sam Bush’s high octane (as usual) bluegrass/country version

Love the key changes in this song!

One thought on “They’re gonna miss me when I’m gone

Have at it

