Happier blue

I was sad and then I loved you–it took my breath
Now I think you love me–and it scares me to death
I lie awake and wonder, I worry, I think about losing you
I don’t care what you say, maybe I was happier blue

Justice is a lady, blind with her scale
But she got a big letter opener, and been readin’ my mail
I don’t know why that should shame me, but it does somehow
I don’t care what you say, she don’t look like a lady now

I believe in heavy thinking, believe in heavy sound
I believe in heavy images to hold it all down
I put it all together and it’s light as a feather in spite of me
I don’t care what you say, faith is not a guarantee

Did you think I didn’t know that?–you might be right
But I swear I will forget it if it takes all night
I never needed nothin’ like I needed knowin’ that I needed you
I don’t care what you say, none of this is nothin’ new

‘Cause I was sad, and then I loved you–it took my breath
Now I think you love me, and it scares me to death
I lie awake and wonder, I worry, I think about losin’ you
I don’t care what you say, maybe I was happier blue

Chris Smither

One thought on “Happier blue

Have at it

