I had something

I had something–it fell from me
Something strong, like a pounding drum
Like ringing bells, when I was young
I had something, then it was gone

I had something–it made me walk all night
Made me run from home, made me fight
I had something, made me feel alone
Like an orphan waiting for a home

Every footstep that I take
Completes the circle my life makes
Every living thing has ties that bind
What I lost, returns with love in time

I heard something–it called to me
And it told me I was saved
Not by God and not by works
Not by any living thing

It was a voice that I once knew
Of my daughter, or my son
Not yet born, not yet known
Another orphan waiting for a home

Every footstep that I take
Completes the circle my life makes
Every living thing has ties that bind
What I lost, returns with love in time

Lucy Kaplansky, I had something

Have at it

