The devil’s real

The devil ain’t a legend; the devil’s real
In the empty way he touched me, where I hardly feel
In the empty hole inside me, the nothin’ that will drive me
Down into my grave: it does not heal
Nothing is a something, and it will suck you dry
Like the whisper you can hardly hear that tells you why

They told me “you ain’t got no problems, you’re self deceived;
These seeming contradictions, well they’re make-believe”
It was then that I decided that my life was being guided
By a second rate dependence on some first class thieves
They told me I was breakin’ through, but I was breakin’ down
And by the time I learned the difference they had long left town

You know they ain’t so malicious, they ain’t mean
They’re just vaguely well intentioned with no love I’ve seen
And its the emptiness that kills you, cold comfort that will fill you
With a sense of dread that maybe things are worse than they seem
They don’t tell you nothin’ you don’t already know
They just keep holding out a promise…but they don’t let go
You know they don’t let go

Well it was hard luck and trouble–bad times two
I know I had it comin’, but I got through
It was advice that you gave me, in a dream, that saved me
You said “get a new life contract that spells out your dues”
It took good will to find it, and a clear conscience to sign it
But now I dream about the good times and it all comes true
Yeah I dream about the good times and it all comes true

The Devil’s Real, Chris Smither

3 thoughts on “The devil’s real

    • Now that’s pretty good. Am in San Fran at the moment. If the weather weren’t so crappy I should make it to Haight-Ashury just to see the ol Greatful Dead stomping grounds.

      And as a scientist being a friend of the details is significant as well, so I like it on several levels.

Have at it

